Hertfordshire County Short Mat Bowling Association News story

Pick 'n' Mix Team Win County Fours

04 Dec 2016

A rink made up of bowlers from four different clubs; Jill Oakes (Greenwood Park), Pauline Taylor (Harpenden), Brian McGivern (Cuffley Hall) and Darren Stanford (St Margaret's) won the Hertfordshire County Fours Championship.  The runners up were Liz Bradley, Dennis Paddison, Gordon Burrow and Ken Murray from Harpenden.

The winners of this competition will represent the county at the National Finals in April.  The runners up are almost certain to receive a place at the Finals as well.  The allocation of places will be confirmed by the ESMBA early in the new year.

Third place went to Jeanette Gayler, Roy Duke, Peter Griffiths and Tony Gayler who were representing St Margaret's.  They overcame tough opposition from Letchworth (Marion Cooper, Pamela Westrope, Alan Hare) together with Rebecca Nightingale of St Margaret's in the 3rd/4th place playoff.  In some previous years, Hertfordshire has been allocated three places in the National Fours Finals.

The nine teams that entered were divided into groups of three with the winners of each group progressing to the semi final stage while the two best placed runners up played off for the final place.  The unlucky second placed four from Cuffley Hall went out of the competition only on countback of the number of ends won.