Hertfordshire County Short Mat Bowling Association News story

The Ace of Herts - Michael West

11 Dec 2016

Michael West won the County Singles Championship at Elm Court today.  Runner up was Steve Hipperson.  The third and fourth places went to Tony Gayler and Brian McGivern.

A highly competitive field of 24 bowlers were organised in 8 groups of 3 players each with the group winners progressing to the quarter finals.  The remaining four group winners were Dave Murphy, Brian Hatherly, Alan Spicer and Jeanette Gayler.

Michael will represent Hertfordshire at the National Singles Finals in April.  Steve Hipperson will probably also be allocated a place at the finals and possibly Tony Gayler as well.  The allocations for places will be confirmed by the ESMBA early in the new year.  Last season Hertfordshire were allocated 3 places in this competition.